Board of Directors and Staff

The Michigan Center for Civic Education is guided by a committed Board of Directors that meets at least four times per year. In 2007 the MCCE Board adopted a strategic plan (PDF, 204 KB).



Hon. Ronald W. Lowe, Judge
35th District Court


Kevin R. den Dulk
Executive Director, Paul Henry Chair in Christianity and Politics, Calvin College


Hillary Baker
Administration Representative
Allegan Public Schools

Nancy Becker Bennett
Division Director
Grants & Community Services Division
Michigan State Police

Jim Cameron
Social Studies Consultant
Curriculum & Instruction
Michigan Department of Education

Darin Day
Director of Outreach
State Bar of Michigan

M. J. Stephen Fox, Attorney
Fox & Associates

Hon. Hoon-Yung Hopgood
State Senator

Margaret J. Krasnoff,  Counsel
DeLoof Hopper Dever Wright & Milliman PLLC

Hon. Gregory Markkanen
Upper Peninsula Representative
State Representative

Monica R. Nuckolls
Associate Professor
WMU Cooley Law School

Eric-John Szczepaniak 
Student Representative
Trustee, Kenowa Hills Public Schools Board of Education

Tamara Shreiner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History and Social Studies Education
Grand Valley State University




GlenEllen Lehmberg

Carson McCready

Michael Obuchi



James Liggins, Michigan High School Mock Trial Tournament Coordinator

Ellen Zwarensteyn, Executive Director


Get Involved with Civic Education in Michigan!